Skip to content

First Words: Opening ‘In Bruges’

16 September 2010

Colin Farrell in Martin McDonagh's "In Bruges" © Focus Features

I somehow hadn’t even heard of In Bruges prior to its nomination for 2008’s best original screenplay Oscar.  While I certainly don’t see everything that comes out, the fact that I hadn’t so much as heard the title surprised me.  And one of the things that struck me about the black comedy was its opening…

I really dig the opening. I love how Ray’s introductory monologue belies the stark gothic images it plays over, how it begins as a dark confession and ends as a quasi-joke.  I remember laughing because, honestly, I didn’t even know where Bruges was either.

It’s a good tone-setter for a black comedy that effortlessly mixes pathos and wit.  And lots and lots of profanity.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

